Check and log: Basic shapes & fundamental form

Are the objects in your drawings the correct size and shape in relation to each other?

It varies.  Often I found that even a small mistake in one area of a drawing had a considerable knock on effect elsewhere.  The difficulty is not so much in recognising these mistakes, but in knowing how to rectify them without creating a whole host of new ‘wrong areas’.  Overall, I think I’m better at achieving correct shape than I am at correct size.  Also, I seem to have a tendency to draw things as though they’re leaning towards the viewer. Even while I’m aware of this, I seem to repeat the mistake.  Much to work on.

Do the shapes between the objects look correct?

I think this aspect had improved in my ‘jars & jugs’ picture, compared with the previous attempt at ‘books & boxes’.  Likewise, in the ‘supermarket shop’ drawing, I found studying the negative space to be a useful guide in placing each object on the page.  It’s far from perfect, but definitely something to which I’m paying attention.

Do the objects in your drawings look solid?

On the whole, I would say yes.  My ellipses need more work, but the more accurate I can make them, plus the corresponding curve at the bottom of an object, the greater the feeling of solidity.  It’s easier to achieve this impression where tone, shading, highlights, and colour can be employed – consequently, I would say my ‘supermarket shopping’ picture has a greater sense of solidity than those in the previous exercises (particularly the lentils packet).

Have you managed to create the feeling of depth in your drawings?

I think so, especially in the ‘jars & jugs’ drawings & ‘supermarket shopping’ – maybe less so in the ‘books & boxes’ exercise.  It helps to consider the overall composition when thinking of conveying depth.  By placing objects one in front of another, that process is set in motion.  Added to this the use of shading and highlights, I think I have achieved this.

General

When thinking about the ‘supermarket shop’ exercise, I felt I needed to make it a ‘proper’ drawing – more so than with either of the two previous exercises.  I soon realised this was largely due to colour being involved!  Colour, together with a far greater degree of detail, combined to inspire a significantly increased level of anxiety about ‘getting it right’.  This is a common concern for people, I know.  I’m also aware that it achieves absolutely nothing other than varying degrees of paralysis.  Still, I do feel that over-coming this anxiety is likely to be one of my greatest obstacles.

