Self portrait

first self portrait

first self portrait

Whilst going through a bit of a dry spell, drawing-wise, recently, I thought I’d have a go at doing a self portrait.  I know that SP’s will be coming up later in the course, so I thought it might be useful to get a bit of practise in.  For this one (my first ever!), I worked from a photo I took about five years ago.  The photo is black and white, with strongly contrasting tones, so ink seemed a good choice.  There are so many things I could have done better – my chin isn’t pointy, for one thing; and in the photo, I was looking directly into the camera, whereas here my gaze has wandered off somewhere else – but, for a first attempt, I was pleased that I achieved some kind of likeness.  I’m sure it’ll be harder drawing from my reflection rather than from a photo, not least because of the constant need to move to look at the paper.

