Exercise 15: Observing negative space and perspective

I did as the course book asked and set up a collection of objects, some overlapping slightly.  I used a pencil for the first couple of sketches, then switched to felt tips.  As requested, I started by drawing the top line of the objects, before moving on to the base line.  Initially, I’d anticipated this would be a relatively simple exercise – but it really wasn’t!  I began by drawing from the left hand side but, about half way across, my perspective went seriously awry.  I realised I was going to end up squashing the remaining objects into the space that was left.  I decided to try again, but the second attempt was even worse…

negative space 1

negative space 1

 

I made another couple of attempts in pencil, but just could not get it.  I thought things might seem a bit clearer if I used bolder lines, so switched to using felt tip pens.  I worked over the second page of pencil sketches, trying to correct where I had gone wrong initially.  The first of these (top of the page, below) wasn’t too far off, but once again I ended up squashing the goblet-shaped dish.  In the sketch on the bottom half of the page, I worked over the preliminary sketch twice in different coloured pens, but seemed to get worse every time, especially when I used continual line.

negative space 2

negative space 2

 

Next, I decided to use a whole A3 page for a sketch, hoping that the extra room would assist in placing the objects more accurately.  The first two objects (a shower gel bottle and a tub of body lotion) went pretty well, but I tripped up yet again with the jug and the glass.  There were the most ‘complicated’ shapes,  so perhaps that was the problem.    The annoying thing was I could see the negative space really clearly, but it wasn’t translating on to the page.  And I do need to work on how to estimate the space needed to fit in an entire composition.

negative space 3

negative space 3

 

At that point I left it.  It niggled away at me though, so I had one last try the next day.  Again I used felt tip pens in a succession of layers.  At first it went as badly as the day before.  But by the second and third attempts (green and blue), I was getting closer.  I slipped up at the stem of the glass dish on the right hand side, then noticed that the negative space between it and the box was much narrower than I had been drawing, so tried to correct it, in blue pen.  In general, I found it harder to get my proportions right than I did to see the negative space.

negative space 4

negative space 4

I really ought to have learned by now that the apparently ‘easy’ exercises are usually anything but…

