Check and log: Texture

Have you discovered any new ways of using your drawing tools to depict surface and texture?

Two main ways.  The first, I tried to make looser marks – for example, in the basket drawing, I used compressed charcoal in looser ways than I have previously to try and indicate highlights.  Fewer pre-meditated marks.

The second way was frottage, especially the possibilities it offers of using surface texture from one object to create the texture or form of another subject, or as a background, perhaps.

More than finding new ways of using tools, I found that I needed to develop new ways of looking, really exploring textures and noting their character in order to find appropriate marks to describe them.

How successful were you at implying form with little or no tonal hatching?

Maybe it worked in my favour that I’ve not yet developed the habit of using tonal hatching that much.  However, I did use directional lines to indicate curves (on the basket) which I think gave some suggestion of form and volume.  I also used smudged mid-tones and a higher density of marks to indicate where objects curve into shadow (again, this can be seen on the inside of the basket).  In addition to this, I made the side of the composition nearest the light source lighter than the side furthest away, which added to the overall depiction of form, I think.  The hatching I did use wasn’t so much tonal as descriptive – for example, the weave of the scarf.

What are your impressions of frottage as a drawing technique?

Its uses went beyond those I could see initially.  Watching the Max Ernst footage on Youtube, where he was actually creating new forms as he was taking texture from other surfaces was fascinating, and something I’d definitely like to try.  Also, as I mentioned above, I think frottage could be a useful way of creating background or base textures.

Overall, I found the textural section a difficult one.  Finding ways to differentiate between very similar textures (varying weaves, for example) between them was harder than anticipated.

