Reflection: Thoughts between one part and the next

inbetween

inbetween

With Part 1 of the course behind me, and Part 2 beckoning, it seems a good time to reflect and look forward…

Part 1 was many things.

New – I hadn’t studied for many years.  I hadn’t studied art for even more years.

Exciting – the lure of possibility.

Scary – the possibility of failure.

Slow – anxiety and health impeded my progress.

Bewildering – learning to navigate blogs, student site, course work, sketchbook, materials.

Illuminating – starting to grasp both the above and my own ways of thinking and working.

Part 2 will be… will be.  Hoping for experimentation, exploration, expansion.

In between… gathering, contemplating, discovering.

Drawing is a way of coming upon the connection between things, just like metaphor in poetry reconnects what has become separated.  {John Berger}

