Exercise 30: Negative space in a plant

~ negative space in a plant

~ negative space in a plant

 

 

For this exercise, I used a black marker pen on A3 paper. As directed, I studied the plant carefully, looking at all the space around it and between the stalks and leaves. Concentrating on these negative spaces, I began to draw. Annoyingly, I made my main mistake almost immediately, by cutting across the bottom of the stems. There was nothing I could do about this, working with a marker pen. I think I was focusing so hard on the larger spaces, that I drew this area without realising. That aside, the drawing went pretty easily. I found that it felt quite natural to look at the negative space –  if anything, it made it easier. Before I started drawing, I had mentally assessed the main divisions of the drawing –  which point the top of the pot reached, the angle of the longer leaves in relation to one another, and so on. Although this drawing felt relatively simple to do, it still took a couple of hours because of the close observation required. Once I’d finished, I decided against adding any additional lines or details, as I felt that the drawing was readable without them.

