Steps backwards… steps forwards

Earlier today, I found a folder of life drawings I made last winter and promptly forgot all about. I thought I’d post them here, by way of comparison with what I produce on the life drawing course I’ve just started. Looking back at these, I remember moments of feeling I was stepping forwards. I need to remind myself of those feelings, as these now seem very rigid. Increased fluidity is something I’m striving for – it feels hard to grasp just now, but I’m trusting in those little steps forwards.

Karin 3, charcoal and pastel

Karin 3, charcoal and pastel

Matteo 1, watercolour & pastel

Matteo 1, watercolour & pastel

Karin 5, charcoal and pastel

Karin 5, charcoal and pastel

Matteo 2, charcoal

Matteo 2, charcoal

Stylised Figure, charcoal and pastel

Stylised Figure, charcoal and pastel

Seated Figure, charcoal

Seated Figure, charcoal

Matteo 3, watercolour & pastel

Matteo 3, watercolour & pastel

Mags Phelan, Matteo 4, charcoal

Matteo 4, charcoal

Alex, charcoal & pastel

Alex, charcoal & pastel

Karin 4, charcoal & pastel

Karin 4, charcoal & pastel

Matteo 5, charcoal

Matteo 5, charcoal

