Check and log: Form

Mags Phelan, form collage

Were you able to maintain a focus on proportion at the same time as creating a sense of weight and three-dimensional form?

I focused, albeit not always successfully! Overall, I think the proportions in both the previous exercises worked quite well – the stumbling blocks came when I tried to concentrate on measuring in the way the course material suggested (i.e. by choosing a unit of measurement from the body – usually the head). As mentioned elsewhere, this isn’t the way I normally measure, and my unfamiliarity and discomfort with it tended to throw my overall focus off somewhat. Generally however, proportion, weight and tone tended to work together in these drawings – before starting, I would look at the figure in order to establish proportions, which in turn made me study the distribution of weight, which in turn indicated where the darker areas of tone were found.

Which drawing gives the best sense of the pose and why?

In the Essential Shapes exercise, I would say the second drawing – the twist throughout the body (arm reaching one way, legs crossed in another) is clearly described. Although I think the proportions work well here, I feel the tonal range is what best indicates the body shapes.

Was there any movement and gesture away from the model’s central axis? If so, did you manage to identify this and put it into your drawing?

Each of the drawings contain some aspect of this, but perhaps mostly in the first and third drawings in the Essential Elements exercise Рboth involve the figure leaning  (sideways in one, forward in another). This movement away from the central axis was depicted by observing the opposing actions of the individual movements Рi.e. if a figure leans one way, there are corresponding effects on the other side of the body, which I believe I showed clearly, using both line and tone.

